Selecting a certification between CCSP (Certified Cloud Security Professional) and CISSP (Certified Information Systems Security Professionals) is a tricky one. Since both certs are similar and are developed by the same organization named (ISC)2 (International Information System Security Certification Consortium). You can choose the cert that you wish to perform depending on what you wish to accomplish. Here we will discuss both these certs in detail to help you select a certification more suited for your career path. Before that, if you wish to become CCSP certified, check out this amazing CCSP Training

CCSP certification is better suited for those professionals who wish to be on the technical side of things, and CISSP is apt for those who wish to advance themselves into a management role. 


This certification is one of the most renowned cloud security certifications globally. Acquiring CCSP certification verifies your skills and practical experience in designing cloud architecture, its security, and overseeing its operations. 

If you are willing to get CCSP Certified from (ISC)2, you must possess five years of work experience within the IT domain. Within which a minimum of 1-year must be one of the six domains mentioned in the CBK (Common Body of Knowledge) that are: 

  • Cloud Security Design and Architecture 
  • Cloud Data Security
  • Cloud Application Security
  • Cloud Infrastructure and Platform Security 
  • Legal, Compliance, and Risk
  • Cloud Security Operations

Earning this certification helps you in making you capable of handling different cloud platforms, also protecting data at scale. Acquiring this cert will help you escalate your career quickly. Every three years, you must recertify by paying the Annual Maintenance Fee (AMF) and earning credits. Read this CCSP Tutorial for Beginners to help you get started from scratch. 


Earning this certification helps you to design, implement, and maintain a highly reliable, and resilient Cyber Security program within an organization. CISSP certified professionals earn 25% more than their non-certified counterparts. Professionals under these roles could take up this certification: 

  • Security Analyst
  • Security Auditor
  • Security Architect
  • Network Architect
  • Security Consultant
  • IT Director
  • Director of Security
  • Chief Information Security Officer, etc. 

Before sitting for the exam, (ISC)2 recommends professionals to possess five years of experience within which two years must be within two domains mentioned in the CBK. And these domains are: 

  • Asset Security
  • Identity and Access Management (IAM)
  • Security and Risk Management
  • Security Architecture and Engineering
  • Communication and Network Security
  • Security Assessment and Testing
  • Software Development Security
  • Security Operations

Every CISSP certified professional must recertify every three years after paying AMF and earning the required Continuing Education Credits. 


We now clearly know which cert is better suited for which type of professional. Now let’s discuss the salary aspects of both these certifications. 

According to official (ISC)2 stats, CCSP certified professionals earn an average salary of USD 61,835 in the Asia-Pacific region and USD 114,172 in the North American Region. 

From the same source, CISSP certified professionals earn USD 57,179 in the Asia-Pacific Region and USD 120,552 in the North American Region. 

Leave a Comment